Daily Archives: August 6, 2008

Get Outside of Yourself

I’m introspective by nature.  A navel gazer.  Self reflective.  Most times far too analytical.  I’m sure there are benefits to this, but I’m too lazy to think of what they are right now.  Very often, someone who is very introspective becomes the person who is often depressed.  In other words, too much time spent in introspection can lead to despair.  At least that’s been my experience.  Your flaws become enhanced.  The parts of you that you don’t like become exaggerated.  So you spend time in a self-induced funk.

The fastest way out of the funk is to get outside of yourself.  Stop being introspective for just a moment, and turn your gaze on someone else.  Someone in need.  Today I made three stops on a round of visitation. The first was to the local Intensive Care Unit.  One of our elderly ladies is there for the 2nd or 3rd time in a year.  Her body has been through so much trauma it is truly a wonder she is still with us.  She talked with me briefly and just cried.  She feels guilty that she is putting her family through this.  I tried to encourage her not to feel that way and prayed with her, but it’s what a mom, grandma, great grandma does.  It’s in their DNA to care for others, and not let them care for her. 

The 2nd stop was to a man who is disabled.  He is rarely able to get out, he has lost his job, and his brother in law passed away last week.  It was perfectly clear he needed someone to talk to.  Someone to be interested in him.  Someone to tell his story to.  And I was that person.  I listened, tried to encourage him, and prayed with him.  I hope he will come to our church.

The 3rd stop was to a 59 year old man who has Down’s Syndrome.  I’ve never met someone with Down’s who has lived that long.  It is God’s grace and his family’s loving care.  He was placed in a Nursing Home/Health Care facility on Monday.  He will likely never live at “home” again and really doesn’t even know why.  He can no longer eat except through a feeding tube.  He cannot do much of anything on his own.  But he knew me, and he smiled and waved when he saw me.  I gave him one of my cards (he plays with them to occupy his time).  I smiled back, talked briefly to him, and then prayed with him.  

When I finished our last visit, I was so energized I couldn’t have been depressed if I tried.  I regularly make those kinds of visits but today I saw them in a new light.  God used them to help me, and I pray help them as well.  If you get into yourself too much, you will discover what I’m writing about.  My encouragement?  Get out.  Get outside of yourself and go serve someone else.  It will not only be a blessing to them, it will go a long way towards showing you God’s grace and love in your life.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized